Nuclear power

Nuclear power contributes to Sweden's power supply. The eight reactors in operation in Sweden are distributed between three nuclear power plants, which are situated at Forsmark, Oskarshamn and Ringhals. There are a number of other nuclear facilities in Sweden besides these plants.

The role of the Swedish Radiation Safety Authority is to impose requirements to ensure nuclear safety and radiation protection, as well as to conduct follow-ups to ensure that the entities operating nuclear facilities fulfil these requirements and take their responsibility for radiation safety. Licensees of nuclear facilities always bear the full responsibility for facility safety and for protecting workers and the surroundings from radiation.